RSS
 

Posts Tagged ‘nhl’

St. Louis Blues 4, Calgary Flames 3

14 Oct

The Flames didn’t really have an excuse for coming out as flat as they did. They were rested, they were at home. They have a full complement of players, with the exception of T.J. Brodie. Even though Brodie would have helped, I’m not sure if he would have been enough.

Calgary had four powerplays in the first 20 minutes, and although they scored on one of them, they only managed four shots in the period. Luckily their first shot went in. Hiller was great because they were outshot 14-4 by the Blues and still managed to lead after 20 minutes, 2-to-1.

The second was a different story. St. Louis continued to dominate Calgary but this time Hiller wasn’t as great, and the shooting percentage of the Blues started to average out. St. Louis scored three unanswered goals in the second period to lead by two.

The third period started out just as the Flames hoped, with an early goal. However the Blues were able to hold on after a final push by Calgary – who certainly had their chances to tie it – to prevent the Flames from collecting their first home win of the season.

Who stood out?

Johnny Gaudreau continues to look good to start the season, as does his linemates Hudler and Monahan. Jonas Hiller was pretty solid as well, despite giving up four goals. Dennis Wideman surprisingly has picked up exactly where he left off last season, which was a career year for him. With another two assists Wideman is just behind Hudler and Gaudreau in points in this young season.

Dennis Wideman

Dennis Wideman is my pick of the night (Why is this the first photo I found?)

A couple guys who stood out for me for not standing out were Lance Bouma and Michael Ferland. Both these guys need to have the sort of on-ice presence that opponents are aware of. Outside of a few half-hits, neither were really noticeable until Bouma left the game in the second with an apparent ankle injury.

McDavid Night in Canada

Next up are the provincial rivals on Saturday, which includes the first appearance in Calgary for Connor McDavid. The Oiler fans are going to come out in droves for this game, so we’re going to have to be a little louder than usual to drown them out. This is one of those games where the most important part is to get a quick start to keep the Flames fans in the game and the Oiler fans quiet.

Connor McDavid

Rookie Phenom Connor McDavid

 

 

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
 
Comments Off on St. Louis Blues 4, Calgary Flames 3

Posted in calgary flames games

 

Calgary Flames 2013/2014 season and broadcast schedule

06 Sep

Very optimistic schedule released today. If the October 11 game happens – colour me shocked. I guess we’ll find out on September 16.

Day Date Visitor Home Time TV
Thurs. Oct. 11 Vancouver Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Mon. Oct. 15 Los Angeles Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Oct. 18 Calgary Phoenix 8:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Sat. Oct. 20 Calgary Colorado 8:00 PM CBC
Wed. Oct. 24 Calgary Edmonton 7:00 PM TSN
Thurs. Oct. 25 Tampa Bay Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Sat. Oct. 27 Washington Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Tues. Oct. 30 Montreal Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
November          
Thurs. Nov. 1 Detroit Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet Flames
Tues. Nov. 6 Calgary Columbus 5:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Thurs. Nov. 8 Calgary Nashville 6:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Fri. Nov. 9 Calgary Detroit 5:30 PM Sportsnet West
Sun Nov. 11 Calgary Carolina 3:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Tues. Nov. 13 Calgary Montreal 5:30 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Nov. 15 Florida Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Sat. Nov. 17 Chicago Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Tues. Nov. 20 Minnesota Calgary 7:00 PM TSN
Sat. Nov. 24 Edmonton Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Wed. Nov. 28 Anaheim Calgary 7:30 PM TSN
Fri. Nov. 30 Calgary Chicago 6:30 PM TSN
December          
Sun. Dec. 2 Calgary St. Louis 5:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Tues. Dec. 4 Ottawa Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Dec. 6 Dallas Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Sun. Dec. 9 Nashville Calgary 5:30 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Dec. 11 Calgary Nashville 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Dec. 13 Calgary Columbus 5:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Fri Dec. 14 Calgary St. Louis 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sun. Dec. 16 Calgary Chicago 5:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Wed. Dec. 19 Toronto Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Dec. 22 Buffalo Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Sun Dec. 23 Edmonton Calgary 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Wed. Dec. 26 Calgary Vancouver 8:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Thurs. Dec. 27 Vancouver Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Dec. 29 San Jose Calgary 2:00 PM Sportsnet West
Mon. Dec. 31 Boston Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
January          
Wed. Jan. 2 Calgary Colorado 8:00 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Jan. 3 Calgary Minnesota 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Jan. 5 Columbus Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Wed. Jan. 9 Colorado Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet Flames
Fri. Jan. 11 N.Y. Islanders Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Jan. 15 San Jose Calgary 7:30 PM TSN
Thurs. Jan. 17 Anaheim Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Jan. 19 Calgary Philadelphia 11:00 AM Sportsnet West
Mon. Jan. 21 Calgary Pittsburgh 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Jan. 22 Calgary Detroit 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Jan. 29 Colorado Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet West
February          
Fri. Feb. 1 Chicago Calgary 7:30 PM TSN
Mon. Feb. 4 Calgary Toronto 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Feb. 5 Calgary N.Y. Rangers 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Feb. 7 Calgary New Jersey 5:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Sat. Feb. 9 Calgary Ottawa 5:00 PM CBC
Mon. Feb. 11 Dallas Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Wed. Feb. 13 Minnesota Calgary 7:30 PM Sportsnet West
Fri. Feb. 15 St. Louis Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sun. Feb. 17 Calgary Dallas 4:00 PM Sportsnet West
Mon. Feb. 18 Calgary Phoenix 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Wed. Feb. 20 Los Angeles Calgary 8:00 PM TSN
Sat. Feb. 23 Minnesota Calgary 8:00 PM CBC
Sun. Feb. 24 Phoenix Calgary 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Feb. 26 Calgary Minnesota 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Feb. 28 Calgary Winnipeg 6:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
March          
Sat. Mar. 2 Calgary Vancouver 8:00 PM CBC
Sun. Mar. 3 Vancouver Calgary 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Mar. 5 Calgary Dallas 6:30 PM Sportsnet West
Thurs. Mar. 7 Calgary San Jose 8:30 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Mar. 9 Calgary Los Angeles 8:00 PM CBC
Sun. Mar. 10 Calgary Anaheim 6:00 PM Sportsnet West
Wed. Mar. 13 Detroit Calgary 7:30 PM TSN
Fri. Mar. 15 Nashville Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Mon. Mar. 18 Calgary Los Angeles 8:30 PM Sportsnet West
Wed. Mar. 20 Calgary Anaheim 8:00 PM Sportsnet West
Fri. Mar. 22 Calgary Colorado 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sun. Mar. 24 St. Louis Calgary 5:00 PM Sportsnet West
Tues. Mar. 26 Calgary Minnesota 6:00 PM Sportsnet Flames
Wed. Mar. 27 Colorado Calgary 8:00 PM TSN
Fri. Mar. 29 Columbus Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
April          
Mon. Apr. 1 Calgary Edmonton 7:30 PM SN West – EDM
Wed. Apr. 3 Edmonton Calgary 7:00 PM TSN
Fri. Apr. 5 Calgary San Jose 8:30 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Apr. 6 Calgary Vancouver 8:00 PM CBC
Thurs. Apr. 11 Phoenix Calgary 7:00 PM Sportsnet West
Sat. Apr. 13 Calgary Edmonton 8:00 PM CBC
           
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
 
Comments Off on Calgary Flames 2013/2014 season and broadcast schedule

Posted in calgary flames news